top of page

Miller and Urso Surveying Top Competitive League Standings

Nugget Column #18 – Tuesday January 24th, 2017

Last week concluded the first round of play for the Scott Patterson Memorial Competitive Curling League played on Monday nights at the North Bay Granite Club.

At halfway through the season it’s the team sponsored by Miller and Urso Surveying Inc. that rests atop the standings with a 10-1 record. Mark Brown, Jeff Miller, Scott Miller, and Taylor Craig advance to “A” division pool play along with Teams Curling Life (9-2), Palin (8-3), Callahan (7-4), Miller (7-4), and Waye (6-5).

The bottom six teams will make up “B” division pool play for the next five weeks and all teams will advance to playoffs beginning February 27th, but at varying positions of privilege in the brackets. For full details please visit


While a few of the North Bay Granite Club’s curling leagues run full season, many offer three distinct sessions that allow teams and players some added flexibility to play more or less when their schedules allow.

The club’s Fall Season leagues concluded just before the holiday break at the end of December and the following were some of the winning teams:

In Evening Ladies curling Pat Dayes, Stacey Dobbin, and April Fuller were champions.

In Tuesday Night Open curling Team Sherry (Kate Sherry, Jamie Graham, Bailey Foy, and Mike Callahan) won the “A” division while Teams Palin (Serge Palin, Chris Chartrand, Eric Emanuele, and Pierre Grignon), Waye (Gilbert Waye, Blair Callaghan, Butch Blair, and Rick Green), and Brown (Mark Brown, Rick Berard, Stacey Dobbin, and Val Davis) tied for fist in the “B” division and Team O’Bright (Malcolm O’Bright, Andrew Hong, Dylan Burns, Sean Breadmore, and Kyle Vainio) topped the “C” division.

In Thursday Night Open curling Team Gagnon (Real Gagnon, Joanne Come, Brad Beaver, and Val Beaver) won the “A” division while Team Venhola (Mike Venhola, Madeleine Makowiczuk, Denis Dufresne, and Lynn May) conquered the “B” division and Team Whitehead (Dylan Burns, Andrew Hong, Sean Breadmore, and Kyle Vainio) captured the “C” division.

At the end of each session, the top finishing teams in each division get a chance to challenge the bottom finishing teams in the division above them. The were four swaps made out of a possible twelve heading into winter league action.

Ruby’s Golden Broom is an annual bonspiel that was organized on January 14th by evening ladies curlers and the winners of this event were Paulette Brown, Pat Graham, Joyce Daniels, and Beverly Laporte.

Second place went to Linda Lutecki, Karen Cobb, Val Davis, and Claire Budreau. And the bronze went to Gladys Banks-Bryer, Kim Prosser, Cheryl Vainio, and Stacey Dobbin.

A reminder to folks that the club’s next “Brooms and Board Games” event goes the first Friday of every month and therefore is now taking entries for February 3rd. Cost is $15/participant and includes an orientation to curling, a 6-end curling game, pizza and games (bring your own or participate in an organized euchre tournament).

Bobby Ray General Manager North Bay Granite Club

bottom of page