top of page

Brown Wins 5th Scott Patterson Memorial League Title

Nugget Column #28 – Wednesday April 5th, 2017

It’s official; nobody owns more Scott Patterson Memorial League championships than any of the four players on Team Curling Life.

It was back to business as usual for Jeff Brown and company on the Monday after their provincial championship win on home ice. Brown with Gavan Jamieson at Third, Steve Decary and Second, and Bobby Ray at Lead faced Gilbert Waye, Mark Angelo, Blair Callaghan, and Butch Blair of Team Kal Tire in the final game.

The now five-time champion Skip of the Granite Club’s most competitive league opened with three points in the first end and carried that lead through to the eighth end where an open takeout was required to secure the victory. Jamieson also collected his fifth league championship while Decary and Ray upped their tally to four. Following with three all-time league titles are Mark Brown and Mike Callahan.

Filling out the top six teams this season were 2017 Ontario Region Canadian Forces champion, Serge Palin; 2013 and 2014 league champion, Mark Brown; 2012 and 2016 league champion, Real Gagnon; and 2006 league champion, Rick Miller.

The Monday night open cash league is named in memory of Scott Patterson; a long time Granite Club curler who represented Northern Ontario at two Briers, a Canadian Mixed, and won an Ontario Universities’ Championship before passing away tragically in a vehicle accident on the way to a curling event in January 2004.


The Tuesday Open League is heading into playoffs just as this column goes to print. 4-time Northern Ontario junior champion Kate Sherry is taking on Serge Palin for the “A” division title, while Laura Payne is taking on Gilbert Waye for the “B” division crown, and Kaz Lutecki is taking on the club’s competitive U18 boys’ curling team skipped by Malcolm O’Bright for the “C” division prize.

The Thursday Open League has been won by Real Gagnon, Joanne Come, Brad Beaver, and Val Beaver who swept all three seasons of “A” division curling. The Spring 2017 league champions in the “B” division are Dylan Burns, Andrew Hong, Sean Breadmore, Kyle Vainio, and Mario Lavoie. The “C” division champions are Brian Tayler, Elaine Beckett-Albert, Bernie Stockermans, and Erin Tayler.

In daytime curling action, the Crystal Trophy, that is presented to the winners of the Wednesday morning open league, was captured by Claude Peloquin, Dave Cerisano, John Stuckless, and Gene Desjardins.

Peloquin came runner-up in the Friday morning Salt and Pepper league to the Rick Miller team who is supported by Jim Lisk, Vince Pugliese, and Don Peterson.

Tuesday morning day ladies curling presented three winning teams with titles at their wrap up event on April 4th. Jann Costante, Jen Valois, Gladys Banks-Bryer, and Lynn may captured the Fall Season Nipissing Winery trophy. The Winter Season Green Store trophy went to Sue Cantin, Karen Cobb, Wendy Leroy, and Marie-Rose Roy. And the Spring Season Beatrice Food trophy was won by Paulette Brown, Jen Valois, Brenda Walsh, and Anna Mortson.

Thursday morning day ladies’ league champions were also announced. The Fall Season Burrows Country Store trophy winners were Patti Callahan, Madeleine Makowiczuk, Gladys Banks-Bryer, and Wendy Leroy. The Winter Season Ultimate Kitchen trophy was hoisted by Pat Dayes, Carly Sherlock, Gladys Banks-Bryer, and Cathy Rennie. And the Spring Season Vezina trophy was clutched by Bonnie Tweedle, Gladys Banks-Bryer, and Judy Claus.

This week is the final week of curling in the 2016-2017 curling season. There is an Annual General Meeting of Member scheduled for Wednesday April 12th at 7pm. A financial review will be presented as well as an election for board members at large.

Bobby Ray General Manager North Bay Granite Club

bottom of page