NOV 23-25 | Assante 101 Classic Sr. Open Bonspiel


Ladies and Gentlemen… Has the North Bay Granite Club got a deal for you!!!

We are celebrating the lucky 13th Anniversary of the Assante 101 Classic, Senior Open Bonspiel on November 23 – 25, 2018 and you are invited to attend.

The Classic has become of the premier bonspiels in Ontario, with hospitality second to none.

Players in 2017 loved our ice conditions and Bruno Bin, our ice maker promises the same great conditions for 2018.

Believe it or not, we plan to have even better meals for teams as our pre-2015 caterer returns to handle the food selections.

This will include:

  • Friday ~ light buffet
  • Saturday Noon ~ soup & sandwiches
  • Saturday Evening ~ sit-down banquet with Dave Bennett as your Master of Ceremonies (you will love him)
  • Table snacks throughout the bonspiel
  • Your entry includes a jug of draft or bottle of wine

Also included:

  • Reserved tables as you come off the ice
  • Great prizes
  • An open concept format that lets all genders participate
  • Everyone gets a souvenir program
  • Several surprise fun events throughout the weekend
  • Great price of only $260/team


  • A committee has been formed to assist with assembling teams. They will assist you in getting on a team, or getting another player if you are short.
  • If you want to participate, they will make sure it happens!

We are planning for 32 teams this year and encourage early registration with a $100 prize draw for teams registered and paid by November 3rd. Please encourage your friends to come and enjoy our hospitality and great curling.

MARK YOUR CALENDAR TODAY: Assante 101 Classic on November 23 ~ 25, 2018


Marc Buchanan
2018 Assante 101 Classic
Senior Open Bonspiel Committee

Poster & Registration


# Skip Vice Second Lead City
01. Peter Canning Bob Budreau Claire Budreau Karen Canning North Bay / Ingersoll
02. Peter Finch Dave Leslie Steve McKee Peter Croteau North Bay
03. George Swanson Bob Laughlin John Haflidson Don Renton North Bay
04. Rob Gordon Jeff Laferriere Dion Dumontelle Doug Hong Sudbury
05. Richard Adam Celynne Dorval David Mayer Joanne Adam Ottawa
06. Dave Rigby Scott Goodhew Ron Kruetzer Dale Heiydt Huntsville
07. Roch LeBrun Marc Buchanan Dinty Garnett John Holland North Bay
08. Paulette Brown Patti Callahan Karen Cobb Gladys Banks-Bryer North Bay
09. Rick Miller Jim Lisk Denis Lafrenier Vice Pugliese North Bay
10. Denis Gebhart Marcel Lefebvre Gus Laforge Greg Dupont North Bay
11. Jamie Graham Pat Graham Lloyd Dunham Marian Dunham North Bay / Bracebridge
12. Carl Seymour Don Clelland Rick Boucher Bruce Stark Huntsville
13. Maureen Broder Dawn Butler Denise Hoekstra Kay Young Ottawa
14. George Maw Basil Cootes Wayne Watkins Ken Ciphery Huntsville
15. Real Gagnon Mike Callahan Brad Beaver Jann Costante North Bay
16. John Burns Guy Fournier Garry Lavigne Allan Lavigne North Bay
17. Jim Curran Rick Besner Max Valyear Greg Godin North Bay
18. Stacey Dobbin Mark Dobbin Val Davis John Davis North Bay
19. Moe Laporte Doc Preweda Bill Allen Steve Rach North Bay
20. Claude Peloquin Dave Cerisano Jim Paynter Gene Desjardins North Bay
21. Dave Chadbourne Cindy Chadbourne Mario Brown Alan Brown North Bay
22. Steve Hevenor Cheryl Heipzner Ted Devine Marie Derosier North Bay / Orillia
23. Jean-Guy Giroux Claudette Paquette Lyse Laurin Yollande Giroux Sturgeon Falls
24. Mel Cox Reid Milne Jack Phillips Butch Blair North Bay
25. Brian Tayler Erin Tayler Bernie Stockermans Madeline Makowiczuk North Bay
26. Bruce Munro Duncan Bell Geoff Jeffrey Mark Brown Sudbury / North Bay
27. Dave Bondett Don Bondett Larry Claus Sue Cantin North Bay
28. Michel Mayer Paul Brideau Marc Larochelle Jean Bertrand Sudbury
29. Beth Goodhew Sandra Heiydt Tammy Harrison Mary Ellan Hope Huntsville
30. Elaine Beckett-Albert Liz Chirico Rob Chirico Norm Albert North Bay
31. Mike O'Bright Marc Baril Marshall McCulley Gilbert Waye North Bay
32. Jim Antler Denis Dufresne Debbie McMullan Tom Boyd North Bay


LIVE Friday November 23rd from 7:30PM – 11:00PM, join us in the lounge for music by North Bay’s Gary Davison! Open to the public; no cover charge.






  • North Bay Granite Club
  • Curling Life Pro Shop
  • Casey’s Bar Grill • Bar
  • Miller & Urso Surveying Inc.
  • Barry Backer’s Service Station
  • East Side Mario’s
  • The White Owl Bistro
  • Hillside Funeral Services Ltd.
  • Idyltime Sports & Marine
  • The Green Store
  • Average Joe’s Eatery & Patio Bar
  • Ontario Automotive


  • Food Basics
  • Freshco
  • Metro
  • Sobey’s
  • Tim Horton’s (Trout Lake Road)

Past Champions

Year Skip Vice Second Lead City
2018 Rick Miller North Bay
2017 Rob Gordon Sudbury
2016 Mark Brown North Bay
2015 Rob Gordon Sudbury
2014 Bruce Munro Sudbury
2013 Joe Montreuil
2012 Rick Miller North Bay
2011 Real Gagnon North Bay
2010 Rick Miller North Bay
2009 Emile Robert
2008 Jamie Graham North Bay
2007 Emile Robert
2006 Ken Armstrong